## **ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/57/2022 20.06.2022

## PRESS NOTE

ECI continues to nudge Registered Unrecognised Political Parties (RUPPs) for ensuring due regulatory compliances

111 more RUPPs deleted from the list and benefits under the Symbols Order (1968) withdrawn

The Election Commission of India issued an order dated May 25, 2022 to nudge the Registered Unrecognised Political Parties (RUPPs) for ensuring due compliances after Commission's meeting held under the Chairmanship of Chief Election Commissioner Shri Rajiv Kumar along with Election Commissioner Shri Anup Chandra Pandey. In the said order, Chief Electoral Officers were directed to initiate action for enforcing due compliances by RUPPs for relevant sections 29A and 29C of the RP Act 1951.

As a follow up to the 25th May, 2022 decision to delete the 87 non-existent RUPPs, in the second phase of the current exercise, the **Commission today decided to delete 111 additional RUPPs from the register**. These 111 RUPPs, whose address of communication, was statutorily required as registration requirement under section 29A(4); any change in address was required to be communicated to the ECI under section 29A(9), which they have not complied with. CEOs have reported that these RUPPs either have been found to be non-existent on verification or the letters issued by them, in pursuance to the Commission's order dated 25.05.2022 have returned undelivered by the postal department. Commission further decided that any party aggrieved from this, may approach the concerned Chief

Electoral Officer/ Election Commission within 30 days of the issue of this order along with all evidences of existence, other legal and regulatory compliances including year wise annual audited accounts, contribution report, expenditure report, updation of office bearers including authorised signatories for financial transactions (including bank account). The segregated list of such RUPPs shall be sent to respective CEOs and CBDT for requisite action under extant legal framework.

Further, a reference has also been sent to the Department of Revenue for necessary legal & criminal action against 3 RUPPs involved in serious financial impropriety. A list of 1897, 2202 and 2351 RUPPs for **non-submission of Contribution Reports** in FY 2017-18, 2018-19 and 2019-20 respectively has also been shared for taking all consequential action as per RP Act 1951 read with the relevant provisions of the IT Act 1961. A list of 66 RUPPs which have claimed income tax exemption without submitting contribution reports as mandated under section 29C of the Act has also been shared with the Revenue Department.

This exercise which commenced on May 25, 2022 will continue to be in operation and will be systematically followed up.

Anuj Chandak

Joint Director (Media)

Any Clarket